Children's Services

Abby loves to listen to stories.

Families are encouraged to take advantage of the early read aloud programs at the Town Hall Library. Story times are scheduled for babies, toddler and pre-school children throughout the year.

The children’s area has LOTS of fiction and non-fiction books, along with children’s DVDs, learning/activity bags, audio book CDs, children's music CDs, magazines and audiobooks. If children (or helpful parents) need to locate books on a specific topic, the on-line book catalog is available for searches. There is also an assistance desk in the Lower Level if you have any questions.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You can also take advantage of this special site to look for children's OverDrive books!

 

Other services for children include:

  • Summer Library Reading Program with weekly activities and special events
  • Join Abby and her trainer for a monthly  program that makes a gentle, patient therapy dog available for children to read or show books to.
  • Reading programs like 1000 Books Before Kindergarten and Read to Achieve coordinated by the Milwaukee Bucks.
  • How can parents help their children with Common Core Standards? Here is some suggested reading to support common core elements in multiple subject areas:

+Common Core Suggestions for Grades 6-12; history books, biographies, social studies

+Common Core Suggestions for Grades 6-12: fiction and non-fiction

+Common Core Suggestions for Grades 6-12: science books

+Common Core Suggestions for Grades K-5: science books

+Common Core Suggestions for Grades K-5: social studies books

+Common Core Suggestions for Grades K-3

 

 

prev   July 2017   next

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
25
26
27
28
29
30
1
2

Monday, July 3, 2017

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Click on the Date for a Full Day View
6

Friday, July 7, 2017

Click on the Date for a Full Day View
8

Sunday, July 9, 2017

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Monday, July 10, 2017

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Tuesday, July 11, 2017

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Wednesday, July 12, 2017

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Thursday, July 13, 2017

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Friday, July 14, 2017

Click on the Date for a Full Day View
15
16

Monday, July 17, 2017

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Thursday, July 20, 2017

Click on the Date for a Full Day View
21

Saturday, July 22, 2017

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Sunday, July 23, 2017

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Monday, July 24, 2017

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Thursday, July 27, 2017

Click on the Date for a Full Day View

Friday, July 28, 2017

Click on the Date for a Full Day View
29
30

Monday, July 31, 2017

Click on the Date for a Full Day View
1
2
3
4
5
Roll over a date to see event details
or choose how to view below

View Full Calendar View List Calendar

Upcoming Children's Programs

July 25, 2017 @ 6:30 pm - 7:30 pm
Pajama Story Time

July 26, 2017 @ 10:30 am - 11:15 am
Family Programs

July 27, 2017 @ 10:30 am - 10:30 am
Baby Story Time

July 28, 2017 @ 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
Family Movies

July 31, 2017 @ 1:30 pm - 2:30 pm
T(WEEN) Activity

August 2, 2017 @ 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm
T(w)een Advisory Group (T.A.G.)

August 16, 2017 @ 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Minute 2 Win It

August 17, 2017 @ 10:30 am - 10:30 am
Baby Story Time

August 31, 2017 @ 10:30 am - 10:30 am
Baby Story Time

September 6, 2017 @ 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm
T(w)een Advisory Group (T.A.G.)

1000 Books Before Kindergarten

Lists of suggested books for pre-K children:

Scholastic Teachers' Picks: Top 25 Picture Books

education.com

New York City Library

School Library Journal 100 Top Picture Books

Great Schools: Favorite Books for Kindergarteners

Please let us know if you have other lists to share!

 

 

A good resource for parents:

Public School Review